Cares for You.

  • 24 Oct 2017

    Partly Cloudy 27°C 12°C

  • 25 Oct 2017

    Showers 28°C 12°C

Tel: +2739 833 1038
Fax: +2739 833 1179

Developed in conjunction with Joomla extensions.


Ingwe Local Municipality is located inland in the southern portion of KwaZulu-Natal (Figure 1).
The municipality is located in the Sisonke District Municipality, the fourth largest geographic district in the KwaZulu-Natal province.
The District comprises five local municipalities:-
•• Ingwe
•• uMzimkhulu
•• Ubuhlebezwe
•• KwaSani
•• Greater Kokstad

Ingwe is approximately 1 970 square kilometres in extent, which makes it the second largest geographical area within the Sisonke District Municipality.
Ingwe is bordered by uMzimkhulu and Ubuhlebezwe to the south, Richmond and Msunduzi to the east, Impendle to the north and KwaSani to the west. The neighbouring local municipalities of Ubuhlebezwe and Msunduzi have significant spatial and socio-economic linkages with the LM as most of the residents of the municipality work, shop and access social facilities in these municipalities.

Ingwe includes towns such as Creighton, Bulwer and Donnybrook. Ingonyama Trust land makes up a major part of the municipality and includes the following areas: Madzikane-Bhaca, Isibonela Esihle, Amakuze, Sizanani, Umacala-Gwala, Zashuke, Qadi, Bidla, Vukani, Amangwane, KwamaFuze and Vezakuhle Traditional Authorities.

The total population of Ingwe is: 100 548 consisting of around 22 000 households (Figure 3). This reflects a decrease of around 7 000 individuals since the previous census and a slight increase in number of households. Black Africans comprise the overwhelming majority with other racial categories being of little statistical significance. Women remain predominant at 54%.

Login Form